Cammeraygal High School

Empowered To Achieve

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

Curriculum at our school

Years 7 & 8 (Stage 4)

All students follow a core curriculum within multilevel classes:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Languages Other Than English (LOTE) / French & Italian
  • Personal Development / Health & Physical Education (PDHPE)
  • Technological & Applied Studies (TAS) and
  • Visual Arts

In Year 7 students also study the Authentic Learning Program (ALP). A program unique to Cammeraygal High School which aims to develop the skills and knowledge required for students to flourish as 21st Century learners. This program aims to increase students' ethical and intercultural understanding whilst developing critical and creative thinking, personal and social capability and the 21st century skills of flexibility, communication, emotional intelligence, teamwork, problem-solving and use of technology.

Continuing the school values program Year 8 students study Contemporary Philosophy. This course delves into effective and considered decision making through the study of local, national and global scenarios. These present real world ethical, moral and social dilemmas.

Year 9 (Stage 5)

Year 9 students continue to follow a core curriculum within multilevel classes:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Geography
  • History
  • Personal Development / Health & Physical Education (PDHPE)

In Year 9 students also have the opportunity to study THREE elective subjects. These electives will be carried on into Year 10 as the elective subjects are two year courses:

  • Aboriginal Studies
  • Child Studies
  • Commerce
  • Dance
  • Design & Technology
  • Drama
  • Food Technology
  • French
  • Geography (Elective)
  • Graphics Technology
  • History (Elective):
    • Option 1 Big Issues
    • Option 2 Blood Guts Glory
  • Industrial Technology Metal
  • Industrial Technology Timber
  • International Studies
  • IST / Information & Software Technology
  • iSTEM / Integrated, Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematic
  • Italian
  • Music
  • PASS / Physical Activity & Sports Studies
  • Photographic & Digital Media
  • Textiles Technology
  • Visual Arts
  • Visual Design